Monday Mashup: Baked Sweet Potato Bites

Monday Mashup (1)

I’m spending far to much time watching cooking TV shows… Rachel Ray and Pioneer Woman are my current favorites (well, and Master Chef when its on). Little Man is going through a phase where he doesn’t want me to feed him. As in – at all. Show him a spoon and he’ll swat it away or cry when I manage to get any of the contents of it in his mouth. I’m fairly certain his first words will be “I do it” because the kid just wants to do everything himself (wonder where he gets that stubborn streak from).   So I’ve been cooking up things he’ll be able to eat, finger foods that are less messy than bananas (and don’t back him up like bananas – oops, forgot about that part). And so , here’s what he got for lunch today:

Mini turkey burger patty & baked sweet potato bites.

The sweet potatoes were super easy! All you need is a sweet potato (or yam if you like), a baking sheet and olive oil (salt & pepper to taste as you prefer).

  • Preheat oven to 450
  • Wash & skin potato. Cut into 1/4 inch slices.
  • Arrange on baking sheet (I also use aluminium foil for easy clean up)
  • Brush with olive oil & salt & pepper to taste ( I imagine you can also add cinnamon if you wanted or any other seasoning you want to introduce your little one too).
  • Bake for 8 minutes, then flip them over (add additional olive oil if you like) and bake for another 8 minutes. (I baked these a little longer because I wanted to eat them too.. the softer ones without the brown edges worked better for Little Man).

Voila! You’re done! Snacks for days!

IMG_7130

Oh yea – I didn’t know sweet potatoes aren’t orange! I guess those are yams… either one will work for this recipe!

 

Leave a Reply

