Whole Wheat Banana Pancakes

I love the Banana Pancakes song by Jack Johnson. Its soothing and adorable and I like to pretend he’s singing it to me. Until today, it was just a song lyric as I’d never had banana pancakes.

My little guy likes bananas – in spurts.  So some weeks, he devours them and other weeks, they get brown and mushy.  I hate wasting food, so when the bananas get spotted, I turn to Pinterest to help me come up with clever ways to use them. I’ve made banana bread, banana muffins, but this morning it was too hot to turn on the oven so I decided to try banana pancakes.

The results? Oh my yum!

11144074_10153461691022290_4576496801511868870_o

The original recipe from Pinterest can be found here. But of course, I modified it. So here’s my spin:

Whole Wheat Banana Pancakes

2 Large Ripe Bananas (smashed)

1 1/2 C Whole Wheat Flour (I used Red Mill Organic Whole Wheat All Purpose Flour).

1 tbsp Baking Powder

2 tbsp Brown Sugar (Packed)

1/2 tsp Salt

1/2 tsp Cinnamon

1 tsp Vanilla Extract

1 egg

1 tbsp Vegetable Oil (use whatever oil you like cooking with)

1 Cup milk (I used Almond Milk)

Combine Flour, baking powder, sugar, salt, & cinnamon in a large mixing bowl

In a smaller bowl combine milk, egg, & vanilla. Mix well

Stir the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, until wet, creating the batter. Stir in the mashed bananas. If you want to add chocolate chips, go for it (a 1/2 cup of mini chips is plenty). I like to sprinkle them on top instead of cook them inside – but do what you prefer!

Cook ’em up on a hot griddle, till the edges bubble and the bottom is a golden color.

Serve and enjoy the wholesome goodness of these homemade Whole Wheat Banana Pancakes!

Makes 9-12 pancakes.

* I highly recommend serving with fresh strawberries, it was so delish!

2 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Banana Pancakes

Leave a Reply

